How to identify the severity levels in FMEA?

Difficulties and faults are expensive. Patrons reasonably place great expectations on producers and facility providers to provide quality and consistency.

Time and again, defects in products and facilities are noticed through wide testing and analytical modeling in the further phases of development. Though, discovering a problem at this stage in the cycle may increase significant charges and interruptions to schedules. The task is to make quality and reliability at the start of the method and confirm that faults never arise in the primary working.

One way Lean Six Sigma experts can identify this through FMEA (Failure Mode and Effect Analysis), a tool for finding potential difficulties and their impact.

An FMEA can be implemented to find the probable failure means for a product or method. Rating of each problem is done according to three rating scales

  • Severity: This rates the seriousness of the probable effect of the failure.
  • Occurrence: This rates the chances that the disappointment will occur.
  • Detection: This rates the chances that the difficulties will be noticed before it influences the clients.

Understand “Severity” in an FMEA?

This is a ranking number linked with the most serious outcome for a provided failure method, centered on the conditions from a severity scale. It is a comparative ranking in the possibility of the particular FMEA and is firm without regard to the chances of occurrence or detection.

The ratings in FMEA are generally marked on a scale of 1 to 10, depending on the severity of the risk recognized. The most severe risks get the highest ratings.

Labeling of Severity Ratings

In a few of the organization, labeling of the Severity Levels are provided to easily identify the risks or failure modes

  • Minor
  • Low
  • Moderate
  • Very High


How to identify the severity levels in FMEA?

Let us now comprehend the Severity rating and its thorough explanation

  • Rating 1: It is not expected to have much of an effect and will possibly be overlooked by the consumer.
  • Rating 2: It is expected to cause a certain extent of distress to the consumer.
  • Rating 3: End-user will undergo specific discomfort due to slight difficulty with performance.
  • Rating 4: Customer is uneasy because of not getting the desired level of performance.
  • Rating 5: Customer is displeased or there is declination in enactment distressing the whole method.
  • Rating 6: Quality Charge because of warranty and maintenances or there is a noteworthy loss in performance.
  • Rating 7: Customer is very unpleased because of the failure in certain important parts of the method. There are also the chances of many faults disturbing entire efficiency.
  • Rating 8: Similar to the above rating, the only difference is that the entire method is being pretentious.
  • Rating 9: Method becomes uneven, which can generate safety subjects for both workforces and the patrons, disrespecting government rules.
  • Rating 10: Method becomes highly unbalanced, which can risk the protection of members and mishaps to occur without any notice, disrespecting government rules.