Sixsigma Methodology

Sixsigma Methodology

There are principally two methodologies of Six Sigma to be precise DMAIC and DMADV.

DMAIC is a figures-determined Six Sigma methodology for improving present products and processes. The DMAIC process should be used when a surviving product or process can be amended to meet or exceed the customer’s requirements.

DMAIC methodology comprises of five phases: D – Define, M – Measure, A – Analyze, I – Improve, C – Control.

Define – Define the project goals and client deliverables.

Measure – Measure the progression to regulate the current process performance.

Analyze – Find out the core causes of the flaws.

Improve – Improve the procedure by abolishing defects.

Control – Control the upcoming performance.

DMADV is a mutual DFSS (Design for Six Sigma) methodology used to advance a process or product which does not exist in the firm. DFSS is an application of Six Sigma which efforts on the design or redesign of the diverse processes used in product built-up or service delivery by considering the customer needs and expectations. DMADV is used when the current creation or process does not come across the level of customer description or Six Sigma level even after optimization with or without using DMADV.

DMADV methodology comprises of five phases: D – Define, M – Measure, A – Analyze, D – Design, and V – Validate.

DEFINE- Define the project goals and target customer.

MEASURE- Measure the course to state the current performance level.

ANALYZE- Analyze and define the origin causes of the defects

DESIGN- Design the method comprehensively to encounter customer needs.

VALIDATE- Validate the design presentation and its capability to meet customer needs.